2016 Peanut Growers Conference

The 18th Annual Southern Peanut Growers Conference was held July 21 – 23, 2016 at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, Miramar Beach, Florida. The three-day event provides farmers with information about peanut production, legislative issues, marketing and promotions.

Conference Information

  • Conference Blog & Photos

    Click the link below to follow the conference blog. The blog includes speaker interviews, photos and more.
    SPGC Blog

Friday, July 22, 2016
General Session I - Survival in the Marketplace

Ryan Lepicier, National Peanut Board and Leslie Wagner, Southern Peanut Growers
Anne-Marie DeLorenzo, Mars Chocolate North America

General Session II - Surviving Production Uncertainty
Dr. Mark Abney, University of Georgia
Dr. Nicholas Dufault, University of Florida
Dr. Jeff Gore, Mississippi State University
Dr. Bob Kemerait, University of Georgia
Dr. Eric Prostko, University of Georgia

Luncheon - The Land Grants' Role in Survival
Dr. George Hopper, Dean, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Mississippi State University
Dr. Samuel Pardue, Dean, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, University of Georgia
Dr. Paul Patterson, Dean, College of Agriculture, Auburn University

General Session III - Peanut Oil: Fuel for Survival
Chris Tindal - Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Energy
Ed Coppola, Applied Research Associates
Marshall Lamb, USDA ARS National Peanut Research Lab
Ronnie Davis, USDA Rural Development

General Session IV - Surviving the Legislative Process
Congressman Mike Conaway, R-Texas, Chairman of the U.S. House Agriculture Committee
Rachel McLocklin Santos, Professional Staff, Senate Committee on Appropriation's Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Adminstration and Related Agencies subcommittee
Bob Redding, The Redding Firm
Bill Bridgforth, Senior Partner in the law firm of Ramsay, Bridgforth, Robinson and Raley LLP
Hank Reichle, Vice President for Marketing, Staplcotn
Dr. Stanley Fletcher, University of Georgia National Center for Peanut Competitiveness

2016 Farm Press Peanut Efficiency Award Winners

Lower Southeast Winner - Matt Bryan, Baker County, Georgia

Upper Southeast Winner - Mike Belch, Northampton County, N.C.

Southwest Winner - Ricky Bearden, Plains, Texas

2016 Valor Award Presented by Valent U.S.A. - Dr. Stanley Fletcher, University of Georgia National Center for Peanut Competitiveness